Error - Your browser does not support Transport Layer Security (TLS) 1.2, which is required to access this site.
All the latest versions of popular browsers support TLS 1.2, including Internet Explorer, Chrome, Firefox and Safari. Please upgrade your existing browser, or utilise an alternate browser to access this site.

Government Champions

The Queensland Government is committed to increasing the capability of government to deliver innovative, efficient, effective and integrated services for Aboriginal people and Torres Strait Islander people across Queensland, particularly to those who live in remote and discrete Indigenous communities. The champions program brings together CEOs of departments and government ministers to partner with individual communities.

The Government Champion program provides an opportunity for Chief Executives of Queensland Government agencies to work together with identified communities towards improving life outcomes for Aboriginal people and Torres Strait Islander people, in a collaborative partnership.

In a complementary program, Queensland Ministers will act as individual champions for discrete Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander communities. Under the Ministerial Government Champion’s program, ministers work closely with mayors and community leaders from their partner community to engage more effectively with Cabinet on the opportunities and challenges facing Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander communities.

CommunityGovernment ChampionPositionMinisterial ChampionPortfolio
Aurukun Michael Schaumburg Director-General
Department of State Development
Hon Curtis Pitt Treasurer, Minister for Trade and Investment
Cherbourg  Clare O'Connor Director-General
Department of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Partnerships
Hon Dr Anthony Lynham Minister for State Development and Minister for Natural Resources and Mines
Coen Katarina Carroll Commissioner
Queensland Fire and Emergency Services
Hon Cameron Dick Minister for Health and Minister for Queensland Fire and Emergency Services
Michael Walsh Director-General
Queensland Health
Doomadgee Barry Broe Coordinator-General

Hon Coralee O'Rourke Minister for Disability Services, Minister for Seniors and Minister Assisting the Premier on North Queensland
Hope Vale Liza Carroll Director-General
Department of Housing and Public Works
Hon Mick de Brenni Minister for Housing and Public Works and Minister for Sport

Damien Walker

Department of Tourism, Major Events, Small Business and the Commonwealth Games
Hon Mark Ryan Minister for Police, Fire and Emergency Services and Minister for Corrective Services
Lockhart River Paul Simshauser Director-General
Department of Energy and Water Supply
Hon Mark Bailey Minister for Main Roads, Road Safety and Ports and Minister for Energy, Biofuels and Water Supply
Mapoon James Purtill Director-General
Department of Natural Resources and Mines
Hon Bill Byrne Minister for Agriculture and Fisheries and Minister for Rural Economic Development
Mornington Island  Jim Reeves Director-General
Department of Environment and Heritage Protection
Assistant Minister Jennifer Howard Assistant Minister of State Assisting the Premier
Mossman Gorge David Mackie Director-General
Department of Justice and Attorney-General
Hon Yvette D'Ath Attorney-General and Minister for Justice and Minister for Training and Skills
Napranum Jim Murphy Under Treasurer
Queensland Treasury
Hon Grace Grace Minister for Employment and Industrial Relations, Minister for Racing and Minister for Multicultural Affairs
Northern Peninsula Area Beth Woods Director-General
Department of Agriculture and Fisheries
Assistant Minister Glen Butcher Assistant Minister for Transport and Infrastructure
Palm Island Frankie Carroll Director-General
Department of Infrastructure, Local Government and Planning
Hon Jackie Trad Deputy Premier, Minister for Transport and Minister for Infrastructure and Planning
Pormpuraaw Dave Stewart Director-General
Department of Premier and Cabinet
Hon Dr Steven Miles Minister for Environment and Heritage Protection and Minister for National Parks and the Great Barrier Reef
Tamara O'Shea Director-General
Department of National Parks, Sport and Racing
Torres Strait Michael Hogan Director-General
Department of Communities, Child Safety and Disability Services
Hon Shannon Fentiman Minister for Communities, Women and Youth, Minister for Child Safety and Minister for the Prevention of Domestic and Family Violence
Woorabinda Neil Scales Director-General
Department of Transport and Main Roads
Hon Mark Furner Minister for Local Government and Minister for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Partnerships
Wujal Wujal Jamie Merrick Director-General
Department of Science, Information Technology and Innovation
Hon Leeanne Enoch Minister for Innovation, Science and the Digital Economy and Minister for Small Business
Yarrabah Jim Watterston Director-General
Department of Education and Training
Hon Kate Jones Minister for Education and Minister for Tourism and Major Events and the Commonwealth Games
All communities 

Ian Stewart
Robert Setter
Clare O'Connor


   Hon Annastacia Palaszczuk Premier and Minister for the Arts
Hon Mark Furner Minister for Local Government and Minister for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Partnerships
Is your feedback

Please submit your comments on the department's Compliments and Complaints section.

Please submit your comments on the Queensland Government website Contacts form.